The best employee monitoring software in 2026
Hubstaff, We360.ai, Insightful, and Time Doctor, ranked from their own G2 review data — plus CYF Recorder, the newest launch in the category, joining this update with its public pricing and feature data.
CYF just launched CYF Recorder
Screen and audio recording, automatic time tracking, and hardware inventory in a single dashboard. That's why it's entering this ranking for the first time — and why it's the only one of the five that doesn't have a G2 review history yet. See how we handle that honestly in the Methodology section.
- Quick ranking: the best pick for every priority
- Methodology
- How to choose, in practice
- Quick comparison table
- Satisfaction by vendor (Wilson CI)
- Feature comparison matrix
- Vendor-by-vendor breakdown
- Why CYF Recorder has no reviews yet
- Pricing
- Glossary
- What this ranking couldn't verify
- Frequently asked questions
- Sources
If your priority is X, the best software is Y
There's no single "best overall" in this category — these tools solve different problems. Instead of forcing a composite score, we ranked the five software products by the real dimension each one leads on, pulled straight from the data below.
Hubstaff
Mac, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android, and Chrome — the only one of the five with native support across all six. Also the most-reviewed of the group, with 2,302 G2 reviews.
Insightful
84 verified integrations on G2 — roughly 4x the runner-up (Hubstaff's 19).
We360.ai
Claims SOC2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR, HIPAA, and DPDP — more named frameworks than any other vendor here (vendor claim, not independently audited by this research). Also has the group's highest G2 rating: 4.8/5.
Time Doctor
Screenshot blurring, employee-visible reports, and role-based access — built for teams that need to "sell" monitoring internally, not just deploy it.
CYF Recorder
From $6 per computer per month, with a Free Plan for up to 2 computers at no cost. It's also the only one that combines screen, audio, hours, and hardware inventory in a single dashboard. Still no G2 review history, so it enters as a highlight rather than a numbered slot next to the other four — see the Methodology.
The 5 products at a glance
Ratings and review counts come from each product's public G2 profile, captured in September 2026. Prices are the cheapest published plan on each vendor's own pricing page, checked on 21 October 2026. CYF Recorder is highlighted because CYF makes it; it has no G2 reviews yet.
Hubstaff
We360.ai
Insightful
Time DoctorWhat each product looks like
Real product screens from each vendor's public Capterra listing. Vendors choose which screens to publish, so these show design and layout, not performance. The images belong to their owners. CYF Recorder's own page shows illustrations of each module rather than app screenshots, so it has no image here yet.




Product page with module illustrationsHow this ranking was built
Four vendors came from their live G2 product pages (profile data, review count, star distribution, pros/cons themes, and pricing tables), captured in September 2026. CYF Recorder doesn't have a G2 profile or reviews yet, so its data comes from CYF's own product page — flagged as a vendor claim wherever that applies.
A note on the word "ranking": there's no single composite score that neatly orders these five products — Hubstaff has the most reviews, We360.ai has the highest average rating, Insightful has the most integrations, Time Doctor focuses on privacy, and CYF Recorder is the only one combining screen, audio, hours, and hardware. Rather than invent a single-position ranking, each product is ranked on the real dimension the data shows it leads on — the same principle used in the decision table above and the side-by-side comparison below.
- Same rating/review-count field pulled for every vendor that has one (Hubstaff, We360.ai, Insightful, Time Doctor).
- Star distributions (5★–1★) pulled from each vendor's G2 page and reconciled against the stated review total before any statistic was calculated.
- 95% Wilson confidence intervals calculated on real counts — not estimated or smoothed — for every vendor with a star distribution available.
- Pros/cons themes pulled verbatim from G2's "Generated from actual user reviews" module for each vendor, without rewriting to favor or diminish any of them.
- Pricing pulled from each vendor's own G2 pricing table (four vendors) or product page (CYF Recorder), using the billing period each one states, without normalizing to a common period.
- Where the G2 profile didn't cover a field — Insightful's and Time Doctor's platform/OS support, the feature comparison matrix — this research went to the vendor's own site or support documentation instead of leaving the cell blank or guessing. Every such feature is flagged in place (†) as vendor-sourced, not G2-verified, since the two carry different evidence weight.
- CYF Recorder's feature and pricing claims are flagged as vendor claims from start to finish — this research had no way to independently verify them, exactly as it had no way to independently verify the other four vendors' claims (uptime, compliance certifications, user counts).
- CYF Recorder wasn't given a numbered slot in the quick ranking because it has no review sample to work from — it enters as a launch highlight, ranked only on objectively verifiable dimensions (published price, data types captured), never on "overall satisfaction."
What actually sets these five software products apart
Hubstaff, We360.ai, Insightful, and Time Doctor are, underneath it all, variations on the same idea: a timer or automatic tracker, activity/idle detection, optional screenshots, and a reporting layer on top — differentiated mainly by integration depth, platform coverage, and how each vendor packages analytics add-ons. Insightful leans hard into integrations and a three-tier structure ("workforce analytics / workflow optimization / work intelligence"). We360.ai leans hard into compliance certifications and per-second activity capture. Time Doctor positions itself specifically around privacy-forward controls (screenshot blurring, employee-visible reports) as a counterweight to the category's "surveillance" reputation. Hubstaff has the widest platform coverage and the largest, most consolidated review base of the four.
CYF Recorder starts from a different question: not "how do I log hours worked," but "what actually happened on this computer." Screen and audio recording, automatic time tracking, a shift timeline, and hardware inventory are separate capabilities that work together in a single dashboard — per direct clarification from CYF, screen recording specifically is available on its own, not as a mandatory bundle every customer has to take. That makes it a better fit when the evidence itself is what matters (QA disputes, compliance audits, customer complaints) and a weaker fit when none of those specific capabilities is a priority for the team, or when coverage is needed on a non-Windows device — CYF's own FAQ confirms support today is Windows-only.
Side-by-side overview
| Vendor | G2 rating | Reviews | Starting price* | Platforms | Differentiator |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hubstaff | 4.4/5 | 2,302 | $4.99/user/month (min. 2 users) | Mac, Win, Linux, iOS, Android, Chrome | Widest platform coverage |
| We360.ai | 4.8/5 | 503† | $5‡/user/month (annual billing) | macOS, Windows, Linux | Named compliance certifications |
| Insightful | 4.6/5 | 419 | $8.00/user/month | Windows, macOS, Linux (beta) — desktop agent only, no mobile app§ | 84 integrations |
| Time Doctor | 4.4/5 | 497 | $6.67/user/month | Windows, macOS, Ubuntu Linux, Chrome, Android, iOS (mobile app only logs hours, no monitoring)§ | Privacy controls (blurring, employee-visible reports) |
| CYF Recorder | No G2 reviews yet | 0 on G2 | From $6/computer/month (Free Plan: up to 2 computers) | Windows | Combined screen + audio recording, time tracking, and hardware inventory |
*"Starting price" is the cheapest published tier — not an apples-to-apples comparison of what you actually get. See "What the starting tier actually includes" in the Pricing Overview section below; several of these entry tiers exclude integrations, payroll, or scheduling entirely.
†We360.ai's review count on G2 is a live, moving number: it stood at 503 (with a star distribution that reconciled against that total) when this research's dataset was assembled, and at 499 on a follow-up check on Sept. 3, 2026. The satisfaction table below keeps the original 503-based numbers rather than assuming a new distribution for the missing reviews — a ~1% count swing on a fast-moving review page, flagged rather than silently updated.
‡We360.ai's prices are listed on G2 and Capterra as "$7.00 / 1 User Per Year" and "$9.00 / 1 User Per Year", but the vendor's own pricing page (checked October 21, 2026) shows them as per user per month when billed monthly, and $5 and $7 per user per month when billed annually. This ranking uses the annual-billing entry price and treats the "per year" label on G2 as a listing error.
§Insightful's and Time Doctor's platform support wasn't listed on their respective G2 profiles, so this research checked each vendor's own site/support documentation (tier 2/3 source, not G2 review data) — flagged here rather than left blank.
Where it runs and what it connects to
Platform support from each vendor's own pages and G2 profile. Integration counts are the verified integrations on each G2 profile, the same counts used in the overview table above.
| Windows | macOS | Linux | iOS | Android | Chrome extension | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
HubstaffHubstaff | ||||||
We360.aiWe360 | ||||||
InsightfulInsightful | ||||||
Time DoctorT. Doctor | ||||||
Verified integrations on G2
Time Doctor's own site and Capterra describe 60+ integrations; G2 verifies 11. Insightful's own page says 50+ against 84 on G2. Counts differ by source, so treat them as a guide.
Satisfaction by vendor — 95% Wilson confidence intervals
The star rating alone hides sample size. A 98.6% positive-review rate on 419 reviews and a 93.0% rate on 2,302 reviews aren't as far apart in reliability as the headline numbers suggest — the interval below shows the real range each estimate could plausibly fall in.
| Vendor | N reviews | G2 average | 4★+5★ share | 95% Wilson CI | 1★+2★ share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| We360.ai | 503 | 4.89 | 97.6% | [95.9%, 98.6%] | 1.2% |
| Insightful | 419 | 4.74 | 98.6% | [96.9%, 99.3%] | 0.5% |
| Hubstaff | 2,302 | 4.59 | 93.0% | [91.9%, 94.0%] | 2.4% |
| Time Doctor | 497 | 4.56 | 92.4% | [89.7%, 94.4%] | 4.6% |
| CYF Recorder | No G2 reviews exist yet — not applicable. This ranking will not estimate or simulate a number here. | ||||
Hubstaff's interval is the tightest of the four because it has roughly 4.5-5.5x the review volume of the other three — its 93.0% figure is a statistically more precise estimate than We360.ai's or Insightful's higher headline percentages, even with a lower point estimate.
How certain is each satisfaction score?
Share of 4 and 5 star reviews, with the 95% confidence interval (Wilson method) from the table above. A longer line means less certainty: Hubstaff's 2,302 reviews give a tighter range than Insightful's 419.
Dot: share of 4 and 5 star reviews. Line: 95% confidence interval. Insightful and We360.ai are both clearly above Hubstaff and Time Doctor on this measure; within each pair the intervals overlap, so the difference is not conclusive.
Rating against review volume
Higher means better rated; further right means more reviews and therefore a more reliable rating. We360.ai combines the highest rating with 503 reviews; Hubstaff has the most reviews. CYF Recorder has no G2 reviews, so it cannot be placed on this chart.
Number of G2 reviews (logarithmic scale)
Vertical axis: average G2 rating out of 5, shown from 4.2 to 4.9. Source: each vendor's G2 profile, September 2026.
What each platform actually does
G2 rating and price don't show what's actually in the box. This matrix comes from each vendor's G2 profile, feature lists on G2 pricing pages, and — where G2 didn't cover a field — the vendor's own site or support documentation (flagged below).
Feature by feature: what each product publishes
Ratings do not tell you how a tool works. This section compares seven things buyers ask about: what gets captured, app and website tracking, time and attendance, reports and alerts, privacy controls, deployment and integrations, and AI. It is built only from what each vendor publishes on its own feature and pricing pages, read on 28 October 2026. "Not published" means we could not find it on public pages, not that the feature does not exist. The detailed table below this section keeps the original G2-based comparison.
| Capture | Apps and sites | Time and attendance | Reports and alerts | Privacy controls | Deployment | AI | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
HubstaffHubstaff | |||||||
We360.aiWe360 | |||||||
InsightfulInsightful | |||||||
Time DoctorT. Doctor | |||||||
What gets captured
Screenshots, screen video and audio capture very different amounts of data. Ask which of them are on in your plan and which are add-ons.
HubstaffOptional screenshots that can be blurred or turned off. No screen video or audio is described. The page says keystrokes are never logged, only how often the keyboard is used.
We360.aiPeriodic screenshots; a capture rate of 60 per hour is listed for the Enterprise plan. Its FAQ says screen recording is not mandatory by default. No audio is described, and keystroke logging is off by default.
InsightfulScreenshots, on-demand screenshots and video screen recording are listed. Screenshots can be random or triggered by suspicious activity, and can be blurred or disabled. Keystrokes are not logged. Screen recording is a $4 per seat add-on.
Time DoctorScreenshots and screen recording are optional features that each team chooses to turn on. Frequency and blur settings are not shown on the features page. No audio is described.
Continuous screen recording plus audio (microphone, headset and system sound) on one timeline, started automatically when Windows starts. Periodic screenshots are on the Free plan; recording and Calls need a paid plan.
App and website tracking
This is how a tool turns raw activity into productive and unproductive time. Ask whether you can set the categories yourself.
HubstaffShows which apps and websites teams use, including in Chrome and Firefox. Mouse and keyboard activity levels and idle time are measured. Productive and unproductive labels are not described on the page.
We360.aiTracks app and website use and sorts it into productive and unproductive time. Active and idle time are decoded every 15 minutes. Whether you can edit the categories is not described.
InsightfulApp and website usage by person, team or company. Productive and unproductive categories can be set by role and adjusted by managers. Reports include Categorized Work Time, Productive Time Analysis and Software Utilization.
Time DoctorTime on websites and apps, with Productivity Ratings for individuals and teams. App and URL tracking can be configured under privacy controls. Custom categories are not described.
The Activity Report ranks apps by time used and sites by number of visits, for the whole company or one employee, day by day. No productive or unproductive scoring is described.
Time and attendance
Some tools start a timer for each person; others compare presence against a scheduled shift. Check which one you need, and whether payroll is included.
HubstaffAutomatic timers, GPS time tracking where job sites clock people in and out, geofencing and overtime tracking. Payouts through payroll providers (Wise, PayPal, Payoneer, Gusto, Deel) and invoices from tracked hours.
We360.aiDaily attendance and punctuality monitoring with automated time tracking; scheduling and attendance are in the Pro plan. Payroll processing is not described.
InsightfulAutomatic or manual clock in and out, break capture, offline time, shift scheduling, schedule adherence and absence alerts. Automatic timesheets and payroll are listed. On company computers tracking can run all the time, in set hours or only on a given network.
Time DoctorAutomatic, manual and offline tracking, automatic attendance and missing-hours capture, scheduled versus actual hours, break tracking, wellness reminders and manager approvals. It produces payroll-ready reports.
The Workdays view shows each agent's day: presence, screen locks, logouts and net worked time, compared with a scheduled shift in minutes or percent. It works without the Recording module. There is no payroll or GPS.
Reports and alerts
Look at which reports exist by name, and whether the tool alerts you or only lets you look.
Hubstaff20+ reports on productivity, payments, work sessions and activity, plus insights on focus time, utilization, remote versus in-office work and capacity planning. The page mentions AI anomaly detection but does not describe alerts.
We360.ai20+ reports (not named), Executive Summary and Productivity dashboards, Employee Risk Assessment and a team technology usage report. Alerts are in Pro, and Enterprise lists 25+.
InsightfulMore than a dozen named reports, such as App and Website Usage, Productivity Trends, Capacity Analysis, Workload Balancing and Hybrid Work Insights. Alerts for idle time, irregular behavior, absence, apps and websites, and keywords.
Time DoctorNamed reports include Timeline and Hours, Activity Summary, Office vs Remote, Meeting Insights, Software Cost Insights and Unusual Activity, with real-time, executive and custom dashboards and custom data exports. Notifications cover missed hours, at-risk deadlines and productivity shifts.
Named views: Activity Report, Workdays, Calls, Screenshots and Hardware inventory, plus a dashboard of devices, online devices, active sessions and recordings, and searchable logs. Alarms for blocked sites or apps and for removed hardware.
Privacy and employee controls
What employees can see, and whether you can blur or turn things off, decides how easy the rollout will be.
HubstaffEmployees can see their own data and remove time entries and screenshots. Screenshots can be blurred or switched off, and role-based permissions limit who sees what. The vendor lists HIPAA, SOC 2 Type II and GDPR.
We360.aiConsent-first design: employees see what is collected in a personal dashboard and get in-app consent notices; managers see rolled-up analytics, not raw feeds. Keystroke logging is off by default. Whether a stealth mode exists is not described.
InsightfulEmployee Login gives people access to their own data. The page lists both a visible and a stealth mode for company computers, lets you blur or disable screenshots, and sets rules per individual or group. Keystrokes are not logged.
Time DoctorEmployees can view their own work data. Privacy settings for screenshots and app and URL tracking are configurable, and access is role-based. The vendor describes a SOC 2 and GDPR-aligned architecture.
The page advises telling employees the software is installed and says visibility depends on your rollout. A visible indicator, a consent workflow, blur and role permissions are not described; you decide who can review recordings.
Deployment, storage and integrations
Where the data lives, how long it is kept and how the tool connects to your other systems.
Hubstaff30+ integrations, a time tracking API and API, CLI and MCP access for AI tools. Silent install, SSO and retention periods are not described.
We360.aiWindows, Mac and Linux, with setup in under 15 minutes according to its FAQ. 20+ integrations such as Slack, Teams, Workday and Jira. On-premise deployment is listed for Enterprise. SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 are vendor claims.
InsightfulWindows, macOS and Linux, with tracking that starts when the computer turns on. Cloud or on-premise, SSO, role-based access and a data retention setting (history up to two years). 50+ integrations, a REST API and a data warehouse add-on.
Time Doctor60+ integrations such as Slack, Jira, Zoom, Asana and Workday, HRIS and payroll connections, and an MCP connection in every plan. A public API, SSO, silent install and retention periods are not described.
Windows only. A small installer runs on each computer and the dashboard manages devices and alarm rules centrally. Retention runs from 7 days to 5 years. Data sits on CYF Storage (databases in Canada) or your own FTP, SFTP or network storage. API and SSO are not described.
AI features
What each vendor names. How the main ones work is explained in the section after this table.
HubstaffAI anomaly detection for unusual activity, plus an API, CLI and MCP server so AI assistants can query workforce data. It also shows how AI tools contribute to productivity.
We360.aiAgentic AI recommendations, plus AI Workplace Assessment, industry benchmarking and risk scoring in the Pro + AI tier. It also lists an attrition risk index and disengagement prediction.
InsightfulAn AI Adoption Report and shadow AI detection show which AI tools people use. An MCP server lets AI assistants query your data. Work Intelligence is a separate product.
Time DoctorBenchmarks AI compares work patterns with matched peers; Meeting Insights is AI-driven; an MCP connection is in every plan. "Ask your data anything" and AI Signals are marked coming soon.
No AI features are described on the product page. Calls detects voice automatically and shows a confidence score for each call. CYF AI Insights is a separate product.
Reading this fairly: a product with more documented features is not automatically better. Vendors with thinner public pages score lower here because less is published. CYF Recorder is highlighted because CYF makes it, and it is shown the same way as the others, gaps included. Vendor claims (compliance certifications, user counts) are labeled as claims and were not tested.
| Feature | Hubstaff | We360.ai | Insightful | Time Doctor | CYF Recorder |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Continuous screen recording (video) | No — screenshots only | No — screenshots only | Yes | Yes (Premium tier / add-on) | Yes — available individually, not bundled with the other capabilities‖ |
| Screenshots | Yes | Yes (automatic + manual) | Yes (stealth mode) | Yes | No — replaced by continuous video |
| Audio recording (mic/system) | No | No | No | No | Yes — mic, headset, and system audio, covering all inbound and outbound audio sources |
| Automatic time tracking | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Idle detection | Yes | Not explicitly stated on G2 or the vendor's site | Yes, adjustable threshold† | Yes | Implied via screen lock/logout, not a feature labeled "idle" |
| GPS / geofencing | Yes (mentioned in reviews re: automatic clock-in for field workers) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | No |
| Payroll / invoicing | Yes (restricted to upper tiers) | Not stated as a distinct feature | Timesheet export only, no native payroll | Yes (Standard tier and above) | No |
| Mobile app | Yes — iOS, Android | Not confirmed (MyZen app is desktop-focused) | No — desktop agent only† | Yes — Android, iOS (timer only, no monitoring)† | No |
| Hardware inventory | No | No | No | No | Yes — exclusive to CYF Recorder among the five, with an alert on component removal (useful for spotting possible hardware theft) |
| API | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Yes (Premium / open API) | Not stated |
| Integrations (verified count) | 35+ (G2) | 1 — Blender (G2) | 84 (G2) | 11 (G2) / 60+ claimed on vendor site‡ | Not listed |
| Compliance certifications claimed | Not stated | SOC2 II, ISO 27001, GDPR, HIPAA, DPDP (vendor claim) | SOC2, ISO 27001, HIPAA, GDPR, CSA, CCPA (vendor site)† | Not stated on G2 profile | Not stated — new product, no published certifications yet |
| AI features (vendor claim) | Yes — anomaly detection + AI-queryable API/CLI§ | Yes, restricted to Pro+AI — behavior-based benchmarking + burnout/turnover risk scoring | Yes — free AI-tool-usage detection, plus a separate "Work Intelligence" ROI product¶ | Yes — percentile peer-benchmark scoring ("AI Benchmarks"), Premium or paid add-on | No AI features stated on its product page |
What each AI feature actually does
A badge or a feature-list bullet doesn't say what the AI actually computes. Here's the mechanism behind each vendor's AI claim, in plain language, pulled from each vendor's own site rather than the G2 summary.
Hubstaff — anomaly detection + API access for AI agents
Two distinct things, per Hubstaff's own feature page: (1) AI-powered behavioral analytics that automatically flags unusual activity patterns for a manager to review, and (2) an "AI-Ready API & CLI" with MCP server support — a technical interface that lets an engineering lead query workforce data directly through an AI agent (Claude, ChatGPT, etc.) instead of building a custom dashboard. The first is a monitoring feature; the second is a developer tool.
We360.ai — behavior-based benchmarking and risk scoring (Pro+AI only)
We360.ai's own site describes two models, both locked behind the Pro+AI tier: an "AI Workplace Assessment" that analyzes behavioral patterns, app usage, and workflows to benchmark performance across departments, geographies, and roles; and "AI Risk Scoring," which predicts disengagement, burnout, and turnover risk by analyzing overtime trends and behavioral anomalies. In plain terms — it's a prediction model over activity data, not a chat assistant.
Insightful — two different products share the "AI" label
The AI Adoption Report is free on every Workforce Analytics plan: it automatically detects which AI tools each employee actually uses — ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, and embedded tools like Salesforce Einstein — and how deeply, with no manual tagging required. Work Intelligence is a separate, newer product that goes further: it compares that AI usage against the company's stated strategy to flag which workflows would benefit most from automation. Insightful's own site describes Work Intelligence as "currently in invite-only alpha access," while a June 2026 press release describes it as already launched — this research couldn't reconcile that discrepancy, so both versions are reported. Insightful also lets managers query their own tracked data conversationally via Claude or ChatGPT, similar to Hubstaff's API approach.
Time Doctor — percentile peer-benchmarking
AI Benchmarks takes a user's or team's actual work pattern — hours worked, productive time, idle time, AI tool usage, active-versus-passive work ratio — and compares it against anonymized peer data pulled from Time Doctor's full user base (vendor-claimed at over 245,000 users across more than 12,000 companies), returning a percentile ranking within that peer group. Time Doctor's own support documentation is explicit: this isn't a scoreboard or a ranking tool for comparing named employees against each other — the intent is to contextualize whether a team's numbers are typical, not to rank individuals.
§G2 uses two different badges under "AI": Hubstaff, We360.ai, and Insightful carry G2's "AI Verified" badge, meaning at least 10 reviewers per product confirmed they actually use AI features. Time Doctor instead carries G2's "AI Enabled" badge — a vendor self-classification, without the reviewer-confirmation bar. These aren't the same strength of claim, and this research kept the two distinct rather than treating both as "verified AI." One Hubstaff reviewer (Francisco Javier H.) explicitly stated "We do not use any AI or intelligence features" — a reminder that a platform-level AI badge doesn't mean every customer uses it.
¶Pulled from hubstaff.com/features, We360.ai's own solution pages, insightful.io/ai-adoption-measurement and insightful.io/work-intelligence, and timedoctor.com/features plus support.timedoctor.com/knowledge/understanding-benchmarks — all tier 2/3 sources from the vendor's own site, not G2 review data.
‖Per direct clarification from CYF: screen and audio recording is one of several available capabilities, not a mandatory core that the others are bundled around. This isn't stated on CYF Recorder's current public product page, which describes the capabilities working together on one platform without detailing whether they're purchasable separately — flagged here as vendor clarification, not as pulled from the page.
†Pulled from the vendor's own site (insightful.io, source.insightful.io) or support documentation (support.timedoctor.com), not G2 — used only where the G2 profile didn't cover the field, and flagged as a vendor claim, not G2-verified.
‡Time Doctor's own G2 profile lists 11 verified integrations, but Time Doctor's support documentation and third-party listings (Capterra) describe 60+ third-party integrations. This research couldn't reconcile the gap — G2's "verified integrations" count and a vendor's full integration catalog don't necessarily measure the same thing — so both numbers are reported rather than picking one.
The five software products, in detail
CYF Recorder — our own product · launch highlight
The only one of the five offering screen and audio recording, time tracking, and hardware inventory as separate, combinable capabilities in a single dashboard.CYF Recorder is a genuinely new launch from CYF, better known for CYF Quality (QA software for call centers) and CYF AI Insights — this is a different, newer product, and it hasn't accumulated independent reviews on G2 or anywhere else yet. Everything below is a vendor claim, pulled from CYF's own product page, not from user reviews.
Its capabilities are screen recording, audio capture — microphone, headset, and system audio (calls, meetings), captured on the same timeline —, automatic time tracking, a shift timeline called "Workdays" (presence, screen lock, and logout events compared against a scheduled shift), and a hardware inventory that auto-updates per device (with an alert if a component like a drive is removed). Recording starts automatically when the computer powers on, with no manual start needed. Per direct clarification from CYF, these are separate, combinable capabilities rather than one package built around recording — screen recording specifically can be adopted on its own. Retention is configurable from 7 days to 5 years, stored on CYF's own storage by default or on the customer's own FTP/SFTP/network. CYF's own marketing material explicitly contrasts the product with "bloated" suites — naming Hubstaff among others — arguing that most competitors spread themselves across security, time tracking, and analytics instead of going deep on work-session evidence.
Vendor-claimed strengths
- Screen + audio + time tracking + hardware inventory combined in one dashboard
- Zero manual setup — recording starts when the computer powers on
- Flexible retention (7 days to 5 years) and choice of storage location
Confirmed limitations
- No independent reviews exist yet — nothing here has been user-verified
- Windows-only, per its own FAQ — no Mac, Linux, iOS, Android, or Chrome support
- Priced per computer: $6 per computer per month, the same month to month
Best for: teams whose core need is proving what happened on a work computer — QA disputes, compliance audits, customer complaints.
Not ideal for: teams that need coverage on non-Windows devices, or that prefer an established review history before buying.
From $6/computer/month · Free Plan: up to 2 computers, no credit card, no end date · 15-day trial of paid plans on request
Hubstaff
The widest platform coverage among the four established software products.Hubstaff runs on Mac, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android, and Chrome — no other vendor here covers that same breadth. G2's AI-generated review summary highlights ease of use and time-tracking accuracy, but notes some users find activity-monitoring features intrusive. With 2,302 reviews, it also has by far the largest sample in the group — which is why its satisfaction interval above is the tightest, even with a point estimate (93.0%) below We360.ai's and Insightful's.
Recurring strengths
- Ease of use (751 mentions)
- Time-tracking accuracy (726 mentions)
- Simple, low-friction setup (443 mentions)
Recurring weaknesses
- Inaccurate tracking in some workflows (196 mentions)
- Limited features for certain needs (132 mentions)
- Slow loading (118 mentions)
Best for: teams that need a tool covering practically any device, including Linux.
Not ideal for: teams for whom activity monitoring itself — not just its accuracy — is the sticking point.
From $4.99/user/month · minimum 2 users
We360.ai
The group's highest G2 rating, backed by the largest number of named compliance frameworks.We360.ai (from Zenstack Corporation) claims to serve 10,000+ companies across 21 countries, with 120,000+ active users — figures this research couldn't independently verify and treats as a vendor claim, not fact. Its own G2 profile lists only one verified integration (Blender), a notable contrast with Insightful's 84. Reviews consistently cite ease of use and responsive support; the recurring complaint theme is occasional data-sync lag.
Recurring strengths
- Ease of use (66 mentions)
- Customer support (38 mentions)
- Time tracking (51 mentions)
Recurring weaknesses
- Sync issues (5 mentions)
- Limited customization (7 mentions)
- Limited functionality (5 mentions)
Best for: teams that weight named compliance certifications heavily in the buying process.
Not ideal for: teams that need a broad, ready-made integration catalog.
Annual billing: Pro $5 · Pro + AI $7 per user per month (monthly billing: $7 and $9; G2 labels $7 and $9 "per year" — see pricing note above)
Insightful
The deepest integration catalog, by a comfortable margin.Formerly Workpuls, Insightful (now positioned as a broader "Work Intelligence" platform) is structured across three tiers: Workforce Analytics, Workflow Optimization, and Work Intelligence (AI-adoption tracking). Its 84 integrations are roughly 4x Hubstaff's count and well ahead of Time Doctor's 11. Reviews consistently praise ease of use and support responsiveness; the most common friction point is an initial setup that takes some getting used to. Several detailed reviews on its G2 page also describe project/task tagging flows for splitting billable hours across service lines or client contracts.
Recurring strengths
- Ease of use (52 mentions)
- Interface (27 mentions)
- Time savings (24 mentions)
Recurring weaknesses
- Missing features (14 mentions)
- Technical issues (13 mentions)
- Learning curve (9 mentions)
Best for: teams already running a large PM/HR tool stack that want native connections to most of it.
Not ideal for: teams that want the lowest possible entry price — its $8.00/month starting tier is the highest of the four established vendors.
From $8.00/user/month (Combo plan: $16.00/user/month)
Time Doctor
Positions itself specifically around privacy-forward controls.Time Doctor claims 245,000+ users across BPOs, healthcare, financial services, and remote-first companies — a vendor claim this research didn't independently verify. It positions itself against the category's "invasive monitoring" reputation with screenshot blurring, role-based access, and reports the employee themselves can see. It has the group's lowest confirmed positive-review share among the four (92.4%, with the widest confidence interval in the group at 497 reviews) and the highest share of 1-2★ reviews (4.6%).
Recurring strengths
- Time tracking (108 mentions)
- Time savings (53 mentions)
- Ease of use (51 mentions)
Recurring weaknesses
- Technical issues (19 mentions)
- Software bugs (17 mentions)
- Tracking issues (15 mentions)
Best for: teams that need to "sell" monitoring internally as fair and transparent, not just deploy it.
Not ideal for: teams that prioritize stability above all else — it has the highest count of software-bug mentions among the four.
From $6.67/user/month (Premium: $16.70/user/month)
Why CYF Recorder enters with zero G2 reviews
It fits the category. It just doesn't have a track record yet.
CYF Recorder fits squarely into the "employee monitoring software" category the other four occupy — this isn't a category stretch. The asymmetry here is purely a matter of age: it launched too recently for G2 to have a profile, a star distribution, or a review sample to calculate a Wilson interval from. We considered leaving it out until it accumulates reviews, and we considered leaving out the caveat and simply describing its features the way we describe the others'. Neither option felt honest. Instead, every claim about CYF Recorder in this article is explicitly flagged as a vendor claim, and it enters the quick ranking only as a launch highlight — never with a numbered slot that would imply a satisfaction comparison the data doesn't yet support.
If you're evaluating CYF Recorder specifically, take the "vendor claim" flag literally: verify the claims yourself with the Free Plan (up to 2 computers, no end date) rather than taking this article's word for it — the same standard this research tried to hold the other four vendors to whenever a claim wasn't backed by a G2 review sample.
Employee monitoring software pricing in 2026
Employee monitoring software costs about $5 to $17 per user per month on annual billing for the entry to top plans of the five products in this ranking, and about $1 to $3 more per seat if you pay month to month. The entry tier is the number that makes headlines; what you actually pay depends on the seat minimum, the add-ons and the billing term. Prices come from each vendor's own pricing page, checked on October 21, 2026.
| Vendor | Starting tier | Mid tier | Top tier | Month to month | Trial and minimums |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hubstaff | Starter $4.99 | Grow $7.50 | Team $10 | $7 / $9 / $12 | 14-day trial, no card. 2-seat minimum. |
| We360.ai | Pro $5 | Pro + AI $7 | — | $7 / $9 | 7-day trial, no card. |
| Insightful | Workforce Analytics $8 | Workflow Optimization $12 (beta) | Combo $16 | Not listed | 7-day trial, no card. Add-ons $3 to $4 per seat. |
| Time Doctor | Basic $6.67 | Standard $11.67 | Premium $16.70 | $8 / $14 / $20 | 14-day trial, no card. |
| CYF Recorder | Free Plan: up to 2 computers, no card, no end date | Paid plans from $6 per computer | — | $6 per computer, same price month to month | 15-day trial of paid plans on request. |
All prices are per user per month, except CYF Recorder, which is priced per computer. G2 and Capterra label We360.ai's $7 and $9 "per year", but the vendor's own pricing page shows them as per user per month billed monthly; billed annually they are $5 and $7.
Entry plan to top plan
Dollars per user per month on annual billing, from each vendor's own pricing page, checked on 21 October 2026. Each dot is one plan. CYF Recorder is priced per computer, at one flat rate.
Plans are not equivalent: entry tiers leave out features such as integrations, payroll or AI (see the table of what each starting tier includes). Insightful's $12 plan is in beta.
What 10 people cost on the entry plan
Per month, using each vendor's starting plan. CYF Recorder is $6 per computer, the same month to month, so 10 computers cost $60.
The entry plans do not include the same features. The Free plan of CYF Recorder covers up to 2 computers and does not include screen and audio recording.
What the starting tier actually includes
The cheapest published price is the number that makes headlines, but it's rarely the number that matters for a real deployment — most of these vendors restrict integrations, payroll, or scheduling to a higher tier. Here's what actually ships in each one's entry plan, pulled from each vendor's own G2 pricing page (four vendors) or vendor site (CYF Recorder).
| Vendor | Starting tier includes | Notably excluded from starting tier |
|---|---|---|
| Hubstaff (Starter) | Time tracking, timesheets, activity levels, limited screenshots, limited app/URL tracking, limited reporting, limited payments, clients & invoicing, 2-day email support | Unlimited screenshots, full reporting, most integrations, faster support |
| We360.ai (Pro) | Scheduling & attendance, workload balance analysis, productivity goal setting & tracking, automated reports, website utilization, alerts | AI workplace assessment, AI industry benchmarking, AI risk scoring (all Pro+AI-exclusive) |
| Insightful (Workforce Analytics) | Stealth-mode screenshots, real-time monitoring, activity tracking, attendance tracking, manual time entries, productivity tracking/categorization, reporting, time control, manager/employee login, API, live support | Workflow Optimization and Work Intelligence (AI adoption) features — separate, higher tiers |
| Time Doctor (Basic) | Essential time tracking, screenshots, project/task tracking | Scheduling, attendance tracking, integrations, productivity ratings, break control, payroll — all require the Standard plan or higher |
| CYF Recorder (Free Plan) | Screenshots, time tracking, Workdays, activity report, alarms and hardware inventory, for up to 2 computers | Screen and audio recording and calls, which are on the paid plans (from $6 per computer) |
Read plainly: Time Doctor's $6.67 entry price excludes features (payroll, integrations, scheduling) that Hubstaff's $4.99 tier at least partially includes, and We360.ai's $5 entry tier leaves out its AI features, which need Pro + AI at $7 — the lowest list price and the cheapest usable plan aren't always from the same vendor.
What changes the price you actually pay
- Seat minimums: Hubstaff bills at least 2 seats on every paid plan.
- Add-ons: Insightful charges extra per seat per month for on-demand screenshots ($4), screen recording ($4), more frequent screenshots ($3) and security features ($4). Hubstaff's Starter plan caps screenshots and app and URL tracking at 500 per user per month.
- Billing term: Hubstaff and Time Doctor give two months free on annual billing; We360.ai says annual billing saves 33%.
- Trial length: 7 days (Insightful, We360.ai) or 14 days (Hubstaff, Time Doctor). CYF Recorder's Free Plan has no end date.
- Per user or per computer: most vendors price per user; CYF Recorder prices per computer, so shared workstations count once and people with two computers count twice.
Example: 10 people on the entry plan
On annual billing, per month: Hubstaff $49.90, We360.ai $50, Time Doctor $66.70 and Insightful $80. Month to month: Hubstaff $70, We360.ai $70 and Time Doctor $80. CYF Recorder: from $60 per month for 10 computers, at $6 per computer. The Free Plan is a separate plan for up to 2 computers and does not include screen and audio recording. Entry plans do not include the same features; see the table above.
A few terms, explained plainly
- 95% Wilson confidence interval
- A statistical range, calculated from real counts of positive/negative reviews, showing how much a "% positive" figure could shift on resampling. Smaller samples produce wider intervals — a way of not treating a rating built on 400 reviews and one built on 2,300 as equally certain.
- Idle detection
- A feature that flags a tracked session as inactive after a period with no mouse or keyboard input — a recurring source of false positives in this category when someone is reading or thinking rather than typing.
- Activity rate
- A percentage some tools calculate from keyboard/mouse input frequency during a tracked session, used as a rough proxy for productivity.
- Retention period
- How long captured data (screenshots, recordings, logs) is kept before automatic deletion. CYF Recorder's is configurable from 7 days to 5 years; the other four vendors' retention policies weren't detailed on the G2 pages consulted for this research.
- Hardware inventory
- An auto-updating record of a device's manufacturer, model, CPU, memory, drives, monitors, and network adapters — a feature specific to CYF Recorder among the five vendors covered here.
What this ranking couldn't verify
- CYF Recorder has no independent review data at all. Every claim about it here is a vendor claim not verified by this research — including ease of setup, recording reliability, and price permanence. That's why it wasn't given a numbered slot next to the other four in the quick ranking.
- CYF Recorder's public product page describes its capabilities working together on a single platform without stating whether they're purchasable separately. This article's description of screen and audio recording as an individually available capability came from direct clarification from CYF, not the public page — flagged throughout rather than presented as pulled from the page. The exact bundling and pricing of standalone capabilities wasn't independently verifiable.
- No accuracy testing was performed on any of the five vendors' time-tracking, idle-detection, or activity-scoring algorithms. Complaints of "inaccurate tracking" (196 mentions for Hubstaff, for instance) are user-reported perceptions, not audited measurements.
- We360.ai's SOC2 Type II, ISO 27001, GDPR, HIPAA, and DPDP claims are stated on its G2 profile and weren't independently audited by this research.
- Time Doctor's "245,000+ people" figure and We360.ai's "10,000+ companies / 120,000 active users" figure are vendor claims and weren't independently confirmed.
- We360.ai's G2 pricing table lists both tiers as "per year," an order of magnitude below every other vendor's monthly price — this research couldn't determine whether that's correct or a mislabeled billing period on the G2 page, and reported it as-is, with a flag, rather than guessing.
- Insightful's and Time Doctor's platform/OS support wasn't listed on their respective G2 profiles, so this research filled those cells from each vendor's own site/support documentation — a lower evidence tier than G2 review data, flagged wherever it appears. We360.ai's platform support (macOS, Windows, Linux) came from G2's own "About" text.
- The feature comparison matrix mixes fields sourced from G2 (integration counts, feature lists from pricing pages) with fields sourced from vendor sites (idle-detection details, compliance certification lists, mobile-app details) — every vendor-site-sourced fact is flagged (†) rather than presented with the same weight as G2 review data.
- Time Doctor's integration count is genuinely unresolved: its G2 profile lists 11 verified integrations, while Time Doctor's own support documentation and third-party listings describe 60+. This research reports both numbers rather than picking one, since there's no way to know whether the gap comes from a stale G2 profile, a different counting method, or something else.
- A follow-up check on Sept. 3, 2026 compared the four established vendors against their live G2 pages. Hubstaff, Insightful, and Time Doctor matched the original capture exactly (ratings, review counts, pros/cons themes). We360.ai's review count had shifted from 503 to 499 in that window — flagged above rather than silently reconciled, since the star distribution behind the new total wasn't available.
- No human-vs-AI agreement data, formal compliance audit, or benchmark against licensed conversation transcripts was produced for this article — none of that exists for this category from a source this research could cite.
- None of the AI-branded features listed in the feature comparison matrix (Hubstaff's Agentic AI/Copilot, We360.ai's AI risk scoring, Insightful's Work Intelligence, Time Doctor's AI Benchmarks) was independently tested for accuracy or usefulness by this research — G2's "AI Verified" badge confirms reviewer-reported usage, not that the AI works well, and Time Doctor's "AI Enabled" badge is a vendor self-classification with no reviewer-confirmation bar at all.
Questions, answered straight
What's the best employee monitoring software in 2026?
It depends on your priority — there's no single "best overall." Hubstaff covers the most platforms and has the largest review base; We360.ai has the highest G2 rating; Insightful has the most integrations; Time Doctor focuses on privacy; and CYF Recorder, launched recently, is the only one combining screen and audio recording, time tracking, and hardware inventory in a single dashboard, with a Free Plan for up to 2 computers. See the quick ranking above for the dimension that matters for your case.
Which employee monitoring tool has the highest G2 rating?
We360.ai, at 4.8/5 across 503 reviews — though its Wilson interval [95.9%, 98.6%] on the positive-review share is wider than Hubstaff's, since Hubstaff's sample is roughly 4.6x larger.
Which tool has the most reviews on G2?
Hubstaff, with 2,302 reviews — more than the other three combined (503 + 419 + 497 = 1,419).
Does CYF Recorder have reviews on G2?
Not yet. It's a recent launch and hasn't accumulated an independent review history. This article treats every claim about CYF Recorder as a vendor claim rather than filling that gap with an estimate, which is why it enters the ranking as a launch highlight, without a numbered slot.
What sets CYF Recorder apart from a regular time tracker?
The other four revolve around a timer plus optional screenshots. CYF Recorder offers screen and audio recording, time tracking, a shift timeline, and hardware inventory as separate, combinable capabilities — per CYF's own clarification, screen recording specifically is available on its own, not bundled by default — useful specifically when the recorded evidence itself is what matters, like in QA disputes or compliance audits.
Which tool is cheapest to start with?
Hubstaff's Starter tier ($4.99 per user per month on annual billing, minimum 2 users) is the lowest published starting price, followed by We360.ai's Pro tier at $5. CYF Recorder starts at $6 per computer per month, and its Free Plan covers up to 2 computers at no cost.
Which tool has the most integrations?
Insightful, with 84 verified integrations on its G2 profile — well ahead of Hubstaff (19), Time Doctor (11), and We360.ai (1).
Does CYF Recorder work on Mac or Linux?
No. CYF's own FAQ confirms support today is Windows-only; anyone needing non-Windows coverage should look at Hubstaff, which covers Mac, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android, and Chrome.
Which of these tools have AI features?
The four established vendors all have some, but they do different things: Hubstaff's AI flags unusual activity and offers an API queryable by AI agents; We360.ai's AI (Pro+AI tier only) benchmarks performance and scores burnout/turnover risk; Insightful's free AI Adoption Report detects which AI tools the team uses, while its separate Work Intelligence product compares that usage against company strategy; Time Doctor's AI Benchmarks compares work patterns against anonymized peer data for a percentile score. See "What each AI feature actually does" above for each one's mechanics. CYF Recorder states no AI features on its product page.
How much does employee monitoring software cost?
On annual billing, the entry to top plans of the five products in this ranking cost about $5 to $17 per user per month: Hubstaff starts at $4.99, We360.ai at $5, Time Doctor at $6.67 and Insightful at $8. Paying month to month adds about $1 to $3 per seat. CYF Recorder starts at $6 per computer per month, with a Free Plan for up to 2 computers. Prices checked on October 21, 2026.
Is there free employee monitoring software?
Some vendors offer a free trial of 7 to 14 days (Hubstaff and Time Doctor 14 days, Insightful and We360.ai 7). CYF Recorder's Free Plan is not a trial: it covers up to 2 computers with no credit card and no end date, and includes Screenshots, Time tracking, Workdays, Activity Report, Alarms and Hardware inventory. Recording and Calls are on the paid plans.
Why do prices on review sites differ from the vendor's page?
Review sites can label billing terms differently or lag behind the vendor. For example, G2 lists We360.ai's $7 and $9 as "per year", but the vendor's page shows them as per user per month billed monthly, or $5 and $7 billed annually. Always check the vendor's own pricing page and the billing term.
Sources
- [Tier 4 — verified G2 reviews/profile] Hubstaff product and reviews page, G2.com. Rating, review count, star distribution, pros/cons themes, pricing, integrations, platform list.
- [Tier 4 — verified G2 reviews/profile] We360.ai product and reviews page, G2.com. Rating, review count, star distribution, pros/cons themes, pricing, certifications (vendor claim).
- [Tier 4 — verified G2 reviews/profile] We360.ai pricing page, G2.com/products/we360-ai/pricing. Shows the "per year" label, which the vendor's own pricing page does not use (checked October 21, 2026).
- [Tier 4 — verified G2 reviews/profile] Insightful product and reviews page, G2.com. Rating, review count, star distribution, pros/cons themes, pricing, integration count.
- [Tier 4 — G2 pricing data] Time Doctor pricing summary, G2.com/products/time-doctor/pricing (accessed via search snapshot). Basic starting-tier feature inclusions/exclusions.
- [Tier 4 — verified G2 reviews/profile] Time Doctor product and reviews page, G2.com. Rating, review count, star distribution, pros/cons themes, pricing, integrations.
- [Tier 2/3 — vendor's own page] Insightful's time-tracking product page (insightful.io/time-tracking) and Insightful's own blog (source.insightful.io). Platform support (Windows, macOS, Linux beta), idle detection, compliance certifications.
- [Tier 2/3 — vendor's own page] Time Doctor support documentation (support.timedoctor.com — app-download articles, hardware requirements, and mobile-vs-desktop app differences). Platform support (Windows, macOS, Ubuntu Linux, Chrome, Android, iOS) and mobile-app scope.
- [Tier 2/3 — vendor's own page] Hubstaff's features page, hubstaff.com/features. Descriptions of AI anomaly detection and the AI-Ready API/CLI (MCP support).
- [Tier 2/3 — vendor's own page] We360.ai's product and solution pages, we360.ai. Descriptions of AI Workplace Assessment, AI industry benchmarking, and AI risk scoring.
- [Tier 2/3 — vendor's own page] Insightful's AI Adoption and Work Intelligence pages, insightful.io/ai-adoption-measurement and insightful.io/work-intelligence. Feature mechanics and the "invite-only alpha access" phrase cited in the article.
- [Tier 2/3 — vendor's own page] Time Doctor's features page and support article on AI Benchmarks, timedoctor.com/features and support.timedoctor.com/knowledge/understanding-benchmarks. Peer-matching mechanics and the "not a scoreboard" clarification.
- [Tier 2/3 — vendor's own page] CYF Recorder product page, cyf.com/employee-monitoring-software/. Feature description, pricing, FAQ, platform support. Last modified per page metadata: Aug. 21, 2026.
The bottom line
Hubstaff, We360.ai, Insightful, and Time Doctor are mature, well-reviewed time-tracking platforms, differentiated mainly by integration depth, platform coverage, and how much each leans into compliance messaging versus a privacy-forward stance. CYF Recorder, recently launched by CYF, enters this 2026 ranking as the newest and narrowest bet in the category: screen and audio recording, time tracking, and hardware visibility as separate, combinable capabilities rather than one fixed bundle — a genuinely different starting point, still without an independent review history, but with a Free Plan on up to 2 computers, with no end date, for anyone who wants to verify it themselves. Whichever direction makes the most sense, weigh the vendor claims in this article against your own testing before deciding — for CYF Recorder as much as for any of the other four.
Researched and written by CYF. Methodology and sources listed above. This ranking compares CYF's own product, CYF Recorder, against three independent vendors plus one product marketed by a fourth company — see the transparency notice at the top of this page. Updated September 3, 2026.
© 2026 CYF. All product names, logos, and trademarks are the property of their respective owners.